Fit Is a Feminist Issue

Skin Cancer AwarenessI posted on Facebook the other day about my first sunny bike ride and the need to replenish my stores of small containers of sunscreen for my bike jersey pocket.

A friend commented that she thought cyclists were more aware of the sun and its risks than were runners. Many runners, she claimed, weren’t so good about sunscreen. There’s the thought that it gets in the way of sweating properly. I’m not sure if it’s right that cyclists are better about the sun than runners though it is true we are generally out there for longer. Most cyclists don’t ride during the dark either and so a long summer ride will include lots of sunshine.

I’ve had a friend in her 30s die from melanoma, it scares me, and I’m anxious to spread the word.

Here’s some tough facts:

About Melanoma in Canada: “In its late stages, the average…

View original post 655 more words

